2017 MASBA Board of Directors

MASBA 2017 Executive/Board of Directors as of the MASBA 2017 Annual Conference: Xavier Herrera, Stafford MSD;
Jessica Cantu, Raymondville ISD; Armando Rodriguez, Canutillo ISD (MASBA 2017 President); David Espinosa, Grand Prairie ISD (MASBA 2017 Vice-President); Homero Garcia, South Texas ISD (MASBA 2017 President-elect); Michael Vargas, San Benito ISD; Ricardo Gutierrez, ESC Region One ; Willie Tenorio, Hays CISD (MASBA 2017 Secretary & 2018 Conference Chair); Front Row: Irene Galan-Rodriguez, Big Spring ISD, (MASBA 2017 Immediate Past-President) and Ana Cortez, Manor ISD.

The Mexican American School Board Members Association (MASBA) conducted its election of officers and board members at its annual business meeting held February 25, 2017, at the La Quinta River-walk, San Antonio, TX during the MASBA Annual Conference and Expo.


If you are interested in running for or making a nomination, please return this form, with a short bio and high-quality jpg photo, by 8:00 p.m. on October 27, 2017 to:

• MASBA Board President Armando Rodriguez at ArmandoRodriguezTEXAS@gmail.com

• MASBA Nominations Committee Chair Irene Galan Rodriguez at irenegalanrod@gmail.com

• MASBA Executive Director Dr. Jayme Mathias at jayme@jaymemathias.com

If you would like the application in Word format, please request at jayme@jaymemathias.com

MASBA is comprised and divided into 6 regions from the 20 recognized TEA School District Regions. Two board members from each MASBA Region are elected to serve a three year term with the exception of Vice President, Treasurer and Secretary (these three Executive Office terms are one year, still representing their respective MASBA Region). The office of President, President Elect and Immediate Past President, with the 12 MASBA Regional Board Members, form the 15 member MASBA Board of Directors.

2017 MASBA Executive Board

2017 President Armando Rodriguez Reg 19 - Canutillo ISD
President-Elect Homero Garcia Reg 1 - South Texas ISD
Immediate Past-President Irene Galan-Rodriguez Reg 18 - Big Spring ISD


Region 1 A) Michael Vargas, San Benito ISD (2018)
B) Richard Guttierez, Treasurer, Region 1 ESC (2019)
Region 2 A) Willie Tenorio, Hays CISD (Secretary) (2018)
B) Ana Cortez, Manor ISD (2018)

Region 3 A) Holly Maria Flynn Vilaseca, Houston ISD (2018)
B) Xavier Herrera, Stafford MSD - (2019)
Region 4 A) Jacinto Ramos, Jr., Fort Worth ISD (2018)
B) David Espinosa, Grand Prairie ISD (Vice President) - (2019)
Region 5 A) John Betancourt, Amarillo ISD (2018)
B) David Espinosa, Grand Prairie ISD, Vice President (2019)
Region 6 A) Alfonso “Al” V. Velarde, El Paso ISD (2018)
B) Mike Rosales, Ysleta ISD (2019)
  *one year term, fulfilling MASBA Region representation  

Dr. Jayme Mathias Executive Director jayme@jaymemathias.com
Sam Guzman Director of Operations & Development sguzman061208@gmail.com
Louis Q. Reyes, III Ambassador louisreyesiii@allstate.com
Kurt Hixson Marketing/Communications MASBA.PR@gmail.com

Legal Consultation
Juan F. Aguilera, Attorney
P: 210-225-0001   Ext. 219
F: 210-225-0041
Escamilla & Poneck, LLP
700 North St. Mary's St, Suite 850
San Antonio, Texas 78205
Benjamin Castillo
P: (956) 318-0555
O'Hanlon, Demerath & Castllio
220 S. Jackson Road
Edinburg, Texas 78539-3900